My first post! Yay!

A few weeks ago I got an email from my sister. In it? A link and “Found it on Pinterest. Get on it.” The link was to Jacques Torres’s Secret Chocolate Chip Cookies recipe. The pictures of the finished cookie looked freakin awesome so, as my sister suggested, I got on it. This is a bit more complicated than my go-to favorite Toll House recipe but the results of the Jacque cookie are worth the time. I used a 5 quart mixer for this recipe and it was mega full at the end, so if you’re using anything smaller than a six quart I would halve the recipe.

Jacques Torres’ Secret Chocolate Chip Cookie Recipe
Makes twenty-six 5-inch cookies or 8 1/2 dozen 1 1/4-inch cookies (I made the 1 1/4-inch cookies, they took approximately 9 minutes in my oven)

Ingredients
1 lb   unsalted butter
1 3/4 C   granulated sugar
2 1/4 C   packed light-brown sugar
4   large eggs (room temperature)
3 C + 2 T   pastry flour
3 C   bread flour
1T   salt
2 t   baking powder
2 t   baking soda
1 T   pure vanilla extract
2 lb bittersweet chocolate (I used 2 bags of Ghirardelli bittersweet chocolate chips, they’re large but super good!)

 

 

 

 

 

 

Prepare cookie dough:
1.   Cream together butter and sugars. Scrape bowl to make sure you get everything mixed well.

 

 

 

 

 
2.   Add vanilla and eggs, one at a time, mixing well after each. Scrape that bowl!

 

 

 

 

 
3.   Reduce speed to low and add both flours, baking powder, baking soda. If you have the patience scrape the bowl after each addition.
4.   Mix in chocolate. Cover bowl and let it hang in the fridge for a while, I did the suggested 24 hours.

 

 

 

 

 
5.   Preheat oven to 350F. Scoop dough 2 inches apart on a greased or lined sheet pan. Bake until lightly browned, but still soft, anywhere from 9 to 15 minutes.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
6.   Try to at least let the cookies cool a little before you eat. De-freakin-licious.

One thought on “My first post! Yay!

Leave a Reply

