Mango Sorbet

A few months ago I found an old hand-crank ice cream maker hidden away in my in-law’s basement (along with a number of other random things). My mother-in-law told me that she had gotten it for Christmas in the early ’90s. Amazing! This poor guy just sitting in the cabinet unused for DECADES! I am now picturing a Toy Story-esque movie about all those totally unused, forgotten kitchen appliances. Is there any way I can use this in the future when Pixar comes out with a movie just like that? I’d watch it. Anyway… after I opened the beast up I made grapefruit sorbet, pineapple sorbet, strawberry ice cream… I went nuts. The only one that wasn’t a total winner was blueberry. It was eh, not really much of a taste, but gorgeous in color! Mango sorbet is the only one I’ve made so far that I’ve documented so here it is:

Peel and chop up the mango (I used 2)

 

 

 

 

 

 

Process in a blender

 

 

 

 

 

 

Strain

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

After I strained the mango puree I added 1/2 C of water and 2T of simple syrup.

Pour into ice cream maker and freeze!

                                  

 

 

 

 

 

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

